Build your foundation
Plan challenging coursework, sustained leadership and service, and regular fitness preparation. Keep a record of your activities and achievements.

™CADETSCOPE UNIT FINDER
Explore high-school JROTC units or college ROTC opportunities. Service academy admissions ↓
JROTC ACROSS THE COUNTRY
Explore high-school programs by state and service branch.
This directory uses 3,403 U.S. listings compiled from Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, and Space Force sources on September 14, 2026. Programs have not been independently confirmed with each school. NDCC/NNDCC and overseas listings are excluded from this view.
Dots represent ZIP-code or city areas using Census Gazetteer data. Nearby dots are separated slightly so you can select them. Schools without an area match remain searchable in the list. Use each school’s official website to confirm its campus location. Seventeen Navy high-school entries are labeled “NROTC” in the source and flagged in their details.
Army directory · Navy directory · Air Force / Space Force locator · Marine Corps directory · Coast Guard directory · Census map locations
FIVE ACADEMIES · YOUR FIRST STEPS
Compare the essentials, then open an academy guide to build your plan.
Plan challenging coursework, sustained leadership and service, and regular fitness preparation. Keep a record of your activities and achievements.
Academy applications and nominations are separate processes. Coast Guard does not require a nomination. A nomination alone is not an appointment.
Expect school records, testing, fitness and medical review. Check the exact eligibility rules and portal deadlines for each academy.
| Academy | Age at entry | Nomination | Testing | Fitness | Application timing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | 17–22 on July 1 | Required · congressional or other authorized source | SAT / ACT / CLT | CFA | Jan. 31 · senior year |
| Naval Academy | 17+; 23rd-birthday limit July 1 | Required · congressional or other authorized source | SAT / ACT / CLT* | CFA | Jan. 31, 2027 · completion |
| Air Force Academy | 17+; 23rd-birthday limit July 1 | Required · congressional or other authorized source | SAT / ACT / CLT | CFA | Personalized portal deadline |
| Coast Guard Academy | 17–22 · last Monday in June | Not required | SAT / ACT | PFE | Oct. 15 EA / Jan. 15 regular |
| Merchant Marine Academy | 17+; 25th-birthday limit July 1 | Required · congressional | SAT / ACT | CFA | Feb. 1, 2027 · Class of 2031 |
CFA = Candidate Fitness Assessment. PFE = Physical Fitness Examination. *Naval Academy CLT acceptance starts with the 2027 entering class. Age cutoffs have precise birthday rules—see each guide. Dates without a year reflect published recurring deadlines; confirm your entry cycle and nomination deadlines.
Nomination routes: West Point, Naval Academy and Air Force Academy accept congressional or other authorized nominations, depending on eligibility. Merchant Marine uses congressional nominations; Coast Guard requires none. Each nominating office has its own application and deadline. See the academy guides for details.
West Point, New York
View application guide Navy & Marine CorpsAnnapolis, Maryland
View application guide Air Force & Space ForceColorado Springs, Colorado
View application guide Coast GuardNew London, Connecticut
View application guide Maritime serviceKings Point, New York
View application guideThese are historical class statistics, not admission minimums or guarantees. Academies report different measures and years, so this is not a like-for-like ranking. Each entry identifies the published measure and source.
| Academy | SAT | ACT | Measure & official source |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | Math 667 · Reading 654 | Math 29 · English 30 · Science 31 · Reading 31 | Section averages · accepted applicants; brochure does not identify a class year Official admissions brochure ↗ |
| Naval Academy | Verbal 600–710 · Math 610–720 | Math 26–32 · English + Reading 49–66 (combined; ACT-equivalent figures) | Middle 50% · Class of 2029; not averages Official Class of 2029 portrait ↗ |
| Air Force Academy | 1370 composite | 29.6 composite | Composite averages · Class of 2030 Official Class of 2030 statistics ↗ |
| Coast Guard Academy | Math 660 · Critical Reading 650 | Math 28 · English 31 | Section medians · typical class; year not specified Official typical class profile ↗ |
| Merchant Marine Academy | Math 632 · Verbal 632 | Recent official ACT average not verified; not reported in the linked class announcement. | SAT section averages · Class of 2029 Official Class of 2029 announcement ↗ |
Mean = arithmetic average. Median = midpoint student score. Middle 50% = 25th–75th percentile range. Section medians and percentile ranges should not be added to produce a composite statistic. West Point publishes section averages, not a composite here. USCGA’s undated profile retains the source’s “Critical Reading” label.
All five value academics, character, leadership and fitness. The notes below highlight distinctions in their published guidance.
West Point combines academic, military and physical development. Its core curriculum spans humanities, sciences and engineering, even for cadets who choose a nontechnical major. The admissions checklist asks for teacher recommendations, activities, test scores and a qualifying CFA.
USNA publishes a Whole Person Multiple split between academics (50%) and leadership/experiences (50%), with a fitness adjustment of up to ±5%. Within the academic component, math test scores receive more weight than verbal scores (18% versus 10% of the overall score).
USAFA recommends substantial math and lab science, plus foreign language and computer science. Its application guidance explicitly considers students who work after school or attend schools with limited athletic and extracurricular offerings.
USCGA highlights math/science accomplishment, leadership, athleticism, varied interests and a desire to serve country and humanity. Its admissions process is merit-based; congressional nominations are neither required nor considered.
The Class of 2031 guide calls for calculus (or at least precalculus), chemistry and physics as strong preparation. The essay addresses curriculum, career interests and the service obligation. Admissions also expects candidates themselves to communicate, rather than relying on parents.
Researched from official academy admissions pages · September 17, 2026. CadetScope is an independent planning resource. Official portals control requirements and deadlines.
YOUR NEXT CHAPTER
Explore college ROTC opportunities, campus information and commissioning pathways.
College coursework and leadership training leading toward an Army officer commission.
NROTC has Navy and Marine options. School details flag a Marine option when reported; confirm availability with the unit.
AFROTC is a college commissioning pathway for both services. Space Force selection is competitive and not guaranteed.
The Coast Guard does not have a conventional ROTC program. Explore CSPI and eligibility ↗.
Gold stars identify the five U.S. service academies as a separate education pathway, not ROTC programs. Academy locations and website links come from NCES HD2024.
This directory includes all 1,003 active institutions that reported ROTC in the NCES IPEDS 2024–25 institutional-characteristics dataset: 1,678 Army, Navy and Air Force opportunities. It is a reporting snapshot, not a complete or independently verified current list of every participating college. New programs and colleges that did not report ROTC may be absent. Confirm availability before applying.
Host campus: a college hosting an ROTC unit. Crosstown / partner: students may attend ROTC training through another college. Confirm with college: ROTC was reported, but we have not matched a host/partner designation. Army designations use exact college-name matches in the GoArmy directory. Unmatched Army, Navy and Air Force campus roles remain marked for confirmation; no host status is inferred from ROTC participation alone.
College facts and coordinates come from NCES HD2024. Dots show the reported institution location, not the ROTC building. Nearby dots are offset slightly for selection. Territory institutions outside the map projection remain searchable. The Marine option appears only where the college reported it; absence of that label does not establish ineligibility.
NCES IPEDS data · GoArmy schools · NROTC schools · AFROTC locator
FIVE ACADEMIES · YOUR FIRST STEPS
Compare the essentials, then open an academy guide to build your plan.
Plan challenging coursework, sustained leadership and service, and regular fitness preparation. Keep a record of your activities and achievements.
Academy applications and nominations are separate processes. Coast Guard does not require a nomination. A nomination alone is not an appointment.
Expect school records, testing, fitness and medical review. Check the exact eligibility rules and portal deadlines for each academy.
| Academy | Age at entry | Nomination | Testing | Fitness | Application timing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | 17–22 on July 1 | Required · congressional or other authorized source | SAT / ACT / CLT | CFA | Jan. 31 · senior year |
| Naval Academy | 17+; 23rd-birthday limit July 1 | Required · congressional or other authorized source | SAT / ACT / CLT* | CFA | Jan. 31, 2027 · completion |
| Air Force Academy | 17+; 23rd-birthday limit July 1 | Required · congressional or other authorized source | SAT / ACT / CLT | CFA | Personalized portal deadline |
| Coast Guard Academy | 17–22 · last Monday in June | Not required | SAT / ACT | PFE | Oct. 15 EA / Jan. 15 regular |
| Merchant Marine Academy | 17+; 25th-birthday limit July 1 | Required · congressional | SAT / ACT | CFA | Feb. 1, 2027 · Class of 2031 |
CFA = Candidate Fitness Assessment. PFE = Physical Fitness Examination. *Naval Academy CLT acceptance starts with the 2027 entering class. Age cutoffs have precise birthday rules—see each guide. Dates without a year reflect published recurring deadlines; confirm your entry cycle and nomination deadlines.
Nomination routes: West Point, Naval Academy and Air Force Academy accept congressional or other authorized nominations, depending on eligibility. Merchant Marine uses congressional nominations; Coast Guard requires none. Each nominating office has its own application and deadline. See the academy guides for details.
West Point, New York
View application guide Navy & Marine CorpsAnnapolis, Maryland
View application guide Air Force & Space ForceColorado Springs, Colorado
View application guide Coast GuardNew London, Connecticut
View application guide Maritime serviceKings Point, New York
View application guideThese are historical class statistics, not admission minimums or guarantees. Academies report different measures and years, so this is not a like-for-like ranking. Each entry identifies the published measure and source.
| Academy | SAT | ACT | Measure & official source |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Point | Math 667 · Reading 654 | Math 29 · English 30 · Science 31 · Reading 31 | Section averages · accepted applicants; brochure does not identify a class year Official admissions brochure ↗ |
| Naval Academy | Verbal 600–710 · Math 610–720 | Math 26–32 · English + Reading 49–66 (combined; ACT-equivalent figures) | Middle 50% · Class of 2029; not averages Official Class of 2029 portrait ↗ |
| Air Force Academy | 1370 composite | 29.6 composite | Composite averages · Class of 2030 Official Class of 2030 statistics ↗ |
| Coast Guard Academy | Math 660 · Critical Reading 650 | Math 28 · English 31 | Section medians · typical class; year not specified Official typical class profile ↗ |
| Merchant Marine Academy | Math 632 · Verbal 632 | Recent official ACT average not verified; not reported in the linked class announcement. | SAT section averages · Class of 2029 Official Class of 2029 announcement ↗ |
Mean = arithmetic average. Median = midpoint student score. Middle 50% = 25th–75th percentile range. Section medians and percentile ranges should not be added to produce a composite statistic. West Point publishes section averages, not a composite here. USCGA’s undated profile retains the source’s “Critical Reading” label.
All five value academics, character, leadership and fitness. The notes below highlight distinctions in their published guidance.
West Point combines academic, military and physical development. Its core curriculum spans humanities, sciences and engineering, even for cadets who choose a nontechnical major. The admissions checklist asks for teacher recommendations, activities, test scores and a qualifying CFA.
USNA publishes a Whole Person Multiple split between academics (50%) and leadership/experiences (50%), with a fitness adjustment of up to ±5%. Within the academic component, math test scores receive more weight than verbal scores (18% versus 10% of the overall score).
USAFA recommends substantial math and lab science, plus foreign language and computer science. Its application guidance explicitly considers students who work after school or attend schools with limited athletic and extracurricular offerings.
USCGA highlights math/science accomplishment, leadership, athleticism, varied interests and a desire to serve country and humanity. Its admissions process is merit-based; congressional nominations are neither required nor considered.
The Class of 2031 guide calls for calculus (or at least precalculus), chemistry and physics as strong preparation. The essay addresses curriculum, career interests and the service obligation. Admissions also expects candidates themselves to communicate, rather than relying on parents.
Researched from official academy admissions pages · September 17, 2026. CadetScope is an independent planning resource. Official portals control requirements and deadlines.